Inspiratonal People

For Maile

I wrote For Maile at my kitchen table. One of the few pieces I didn’t write in class. I wrote it the day after I found out Maile Zambuto was leaving Joyful Heart.

Originally it was going to be titled Until We Meet Again, But I realized that sounded like she died. So I changed it to For Maile.

The poem repeats the phrase, “Until we meet again, and we will,” a lot. In fact, each statement starts with that. I realize that sounds like she died as well. But in her blog post about why she was leaving had that exact phrase in it.

Maile inspires me. As a survivor, as an advocate, and simply as a human being. She has for a very long time. I am so incredibly honored to have met her.

Thank you isn’t enough. So all I can say is this, until we meet again, and we will, I’ll carry on your legacy in my heart and my actions, and continue this fight.

Mahalo Maile.

xo, K.M.

Leave a comment